President, Kathleen Cook, Early Childhood Educator

Board of Trustees

The Early Steps Board of Trustees includes administrators, parents and diversity advocates connected to New York City independent schools.

President, Kathleen Cook*, Early Childhood Educator

Executive Director, Jacqueline Y. Pelzer*

Alan Berk Vice President, Leonard Rosen & Co.
Kelly O'Connell Bird* President, Making Space, LLC
Bertram Gibson* Retired 
Martha Haakmat* Executive Director, Haakmat Consulting, LLC
Martha Hirschman* Educational Consultant
Patricia Redd Johnson
Educational Consultant, Former Senior Associate Dean of Admission The Hotchkiss, Former Director of Admission The Dalton School
Stuart Johnson Head of School, Tuxedo Park School
Cheryl Kelly Former Head of Early Childhood, Grace Church School
Tom Kelly Headmaster, Horace Mann School
Sarah Lafferty Educator/Admissions Professional/Consultant     
Andrew McLaren Former Head of School, Little Red Schoolhouse
Mark Ostroff Founder, Chief Executive Officer, Alloy Asset Management
Sandra Owens* Area Development Director, United Negro College Fund
Michele Owens-Patterson Senior Psychologist, Prep for Prep
Alexandra L. Peters President, New Space for Women (Health Center)
Corrente Schankler Owner, Petal Design Studio
Lydia Spinelli Consultant and Director of Summer Steps at The Brick Church School
Linden Havemeyer Wise Special Counsel, The Metropolitan Museum of Art; Trustee, The Chapin School

*Executive Committee